Artists > Sudharani Raghupati

Sudharani Raghupati

A unique and eminent artiste, nationally and internationally honoured and respected, Prof. Sudharani Raghupathy has been in the field of Bharatanatyam for more than five-and-a-half decades. Lauded as a 'celestial apparition', she is known for her refreshing spontaneity, grace and ease of performance. A rare combination of a dancer, teacher, choreographer and philosopher, what marks her recital is exuberance with an artistic restraint.

She is perhaps one of the rare Bharatanatyam dancers in India who has performed before the visiting dignitaries to India since 1956. To mention a few Bulganin & Krushchev, Shah of Iran, Emperor of Ethiopia, King of Afganisthan, Chou en Lai, Ho Chi Minh and many others, including a command performance for Pandit. Jawaharlal Nehru and Smt. Indira Gandhi.

As an artiste of outstanding calibre, she had the privilege of performing at the United Nations Head Quarters in New York, on Human Rights Day in December 1981, on an invitation from the then Secretary-General, Kurt Waldheim. She has participated in several national and international seminars and has served on the board of several cultural committees.

Shree Bharatalaya, a unique institution of fine arts founded by her in 1970, by Prof. Sudharani Raghupathy, for the dissemination of culture. Her institution is perhaps the only one of its kind in the nation that has produced valuable resource material, which is a unique contribution to the world of fine arts.

At the instance of Padma Vibhushan Smt. Kamaladevi Chattopadyay, she documented the famous ‘Arayar Sevai’ of Srivilliputhur. The Sangeet Natak Akademi has recorded her ‘Navasandhi’ Nritta in 1981-1982. The CCRT, New Delhi has produced a videocassette of her Ramayana-Balakanda, which was released by the Sankaracharya of Kanchi, H.H.Jayendra Saraswathi Swamiji in 1993.

A few of the prestigious awards conferred on her include Padma Shri (1988), Central Sangeet Natak Akademi award (1984), Kalaimamani (1981)-(Tamil Nadu state award), Sapthagiri Sangeetha Vidwanmani (1996)-(Andhra Pradesh), Kalashree (1999)-(Karnataka) Telugu Academy award among many others.

Related Albums

Aruna Sayeeram

Begum Akhtar

Benoy K. Behl

Chitra Visweswaran

Dr Padma Subramaniam

Dr. M Balamurlikrishnan

Durga Lal

Gangubai Hangal

Girish Karnad

Gopi Krishna


Hari Prasad Chaurasia

Harishankar Parsai

Kadri Gopalnath

Kelu Charan Mahapatra

Kiran Sehgal

Kum Kum Mohanty

Kunal Ganjawala

Kundan Shah

Kunnakudi Vaidhyanathan

Lachhu Maharaj

Lakshmi Vishwanathan

Leela Venkataraman

M. L. Vasanthakumari

M. S. Subbulakshmi

Madhavi Mudgal

Mallikarjun Mansoor

Mani Krishnaswamy

Manna Dey

Meeta Pandit

Munshi Premchand

Nikhil Banerjee

Pandit Bhimsen Joshi

Pandit Birju Maharaj

Pandit Jasraj

Pt. Kishan Maharaj

Pt. Krishnarao Shankar Pandit

Pt. Laxman Krishnarao Pandit

Pt. Maniram

Pt. Samta Prasad

Radha and Raja Reddy

Sabri Brothers

Sanjukta Panigrahi

Sheikh Chinnamaulana

Shyam Benegal

Sitara Devi

Sonal Mansingh

Sudha Raghunathan

Sudharani Raghupati

T. N Krishnan

Udit Narayan

Uma Sharma

Ustad Ahmed Jan Thirakwa

Ustad Amjad Ali Khan

Ustad Asad Ali Khan

Ustad Bismillah Khan

Wadali Brothers